South Sudan's president agrees to have 10 states

South Sudan's President Salva Kiir has agreed to return the country to ten states, including three administrative areas such as Abyei, Boma and Ruweng respectively following a meeting of the presidency at the State House on Friday.

In the statement issued by the presidency on Saturday, Kiir said he would accept a key demand of the opposition, the return to a federal system of ten states, paving the way for the formation of a unity government and the end of the civil war.

"We have just made a c…

Africanews on YouTube brings you a daily dose of news, produced and realised in Africa, by and for Africans.
Africanews is the first pan-African multilingual media outlet, unique in its concept and vision.
Subscribe on our Youtube channel and receive all the latest news from the continent.

Africanews is available in English and French.
Website :
Facebook :
Twitter :
South Sudan
south sudan, president, salva kiir, states